Be still.

Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every Word that proceeds out from the mouth of God.

Don’t think I’ve ever been at a point of such exhaustion in a long long time. Yet at the same time I’m happy. Somehow. Nehemiah 8:10 is so true.. (:

Had a whole new understanding of Psalm 46:10 today during QT.

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.”

For the longest time I always thought this was talking about getting our own soul to be still, our own heart, our own mind..

but I realised tonight that it is so much more than that. “Be still”, is the voice of God speaking not just to us as persons, but specifically to the inner demons, to the voice of the enemy that taunts us in our emotions, in our thoughts. BE STILL, is God commanding the enemy to desist and cease to exist. BE STILL, is God commanding the storms in our lives to quieten and restore peace on the inside of us.

So needed this word for the season. No wonder I didn’t get it previously and found it so difficult to quieten my heart to be at a state of peace that surpasses all understanding. It’s not about depending on my own strength to be still, it’s not about trying so hard to keep out the negative voices that scream so loud at times…

It’s about taking authority in the realm of faith and speaking to the enemy to BE STILL.

Be still, voice of despair, voice of destruction. You shall have no hold over my life.

Leave a Reply

