sacrifices of joy

it’s so important to know who to run to when all the feelings and emotions seep in, because it is that crucial decision you make that will determine whether you fall down in a spiral of temporal depression or you find the strength to stand up and walk again.

just when I thought that I would need to private a blog post to keep excess negativity from affecting people (nopeeeee don’t worry i’m not some secretly emo girl who has a private blog revealing my dark inner world, i am the way you read me to be!), just a little over an hour with my best Friend and perspective is back in place (: i just need to…breathe…

got my Word for the season… there’s a particular verse that really stood out to me:

And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore will I offer in His tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the Lord. (Psalm 27:6)

sacrifices of joy – never really thought of joy as a sacrifice before. joy is usually seen as a product of a circumstance, or even a fruit of the Spirit. but we can offer joy as a sacrifice… it really made me wonder what it meant.

joy |dʒɔɪ|noun [ mass noun ]

the emotion of great delight or happiness; keen pleasure; elating

it takes one of substance to be able to pull out something from the inside to have joy when circumstances call for the opposite emotion.

sacrifice entails a cost, it gotta cost you something. and it is only when in the midst of a storm, we praise, coming before God with genuine delight, elated – when we don’t feel like smiling… then we bring “sacrifices of joy”.

faith is required to take off one’s eyes off the circumstances and look upwards instead. brokenness…before anointing will flow.

not the easiest season but, let me offer sacrifices of praise, regardless of the season of my life – because He is worthy.

on a side note, I just want to say that I was so happy to finally catch up with Jescelyn today. even though it was a short meet-up, her company just made me smile. she is special. really special. (:

all of my life, in every season
You are still God –
I have a reason to praise;
I have a reason to worship. 

 

Leave a Reply

