thankful :)

fbccbadd3dc75ed5b74307eb10930a5b

I… put the flowers there because… flowers are pretty and make me happy. hehe.

Yesterday I looked at the paper with the letters on it and I thought to myself, it is so true that… it is only a paper. many times people say it and it made sense to me, but I guess I never really felt what it meant till yesterday. it is really only a paper. 5 years down the road… it probably wouldn’t even matter half as much as what it seemed like in the school hall.

I am just so very thankful that I have been taught and convicted of the value of significance over success. This makes me look back at whatever I did in the past 2 years with no regrets. My heart sinks a little when I hear people thinking that their future is dependent on yesterday, or being discontent just because they didn’t meet up to the expectations of another. I feel like screaming, “HEY, YOU CAN HAVE A FUTURE – A GREAT ONE IN FACT.” because I know that it is true.

I am very thankful that though the future is unknown, it is in the hands of a known God. The whole anxiety of what to do with my life and what is going to happen is entirely lifted just because of this very powerful fact. Very often it seems like the roads to take have been laid out and we gotta choose which path to take. But there is a road less taken that we may not entirely be aware of yet. A journey is not about knowing the destination all the time. It is just about knowing the next step and growing through the process.

I am very thankful that I understand that my value is not determined by grades given to the scrawl of essays written in the month of November. It is pathetic to think that man has been created to achieve for themselves. Too small a concept for all that is happening in the world. The value of a life is only dependent on the price that has already been paid for it, a constant.

I am also very thankful that I have been taught perspective. Being in a certain kind of school for years can cause one to think very narrowly because everyone is a certain kind of standard up there. But because I have seen the bigger picture, I know that I am very very fortunate and I have nothing to complain about.

And beyond all of this, I am so thankful for the people in my life. Pastors, my leaders, my friends, my parents. Who care more about me than what I have done. Without them, even if my name was on the screen, there wouldn’t be much point to it.

No turning back, I’ve made up my mind. /
I’m giving all of my life this time. /
Your love makes it worth it all.

I remember listening to this and telling myself that I wanna mean every word of this bridge in the song. So at this point in time all I have to say is that I still mean it. and every single thing that was done, it had always been worth it, it is still worth it, & it is going to be more than worth it. 🙂

Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord. – 1 Corinthains 15:58

Leave a Reply

