Clung

Then they lifted up their voices and wept again; and Orpah kissed her mother-in-law, but Ruth clung to her. – Ruth 1:14

Read this earlier today and it tugged at me.

There are two groups of people: the ones that say good-bye and the ones that refuse to budge.

The ones that say good-bye are not wrong, but perhaps just let their emotions rule over their commitment/convictions.

They may kiss and it may be an outward display of affection – but nothing beats an inward loyalty and resolve.

Clung –  remain persistently or stubbornly faithful to

Ruth was persistently, stubbornly faithful to the commitment she had as a daughter-in-law.

Now, I think about myself:

A persistent, stubborn faithfulness to what I committed myself to from the start.

A determined loyalty to a dream and destiny greater than myself.

God, I chose You, I choose You, and I would do the same over and over again…

just like Ruth – let it be said that at the end of it all, I clung to You.

(now back to the tutorials, let’s do thissssss)

Leave a Reply

